Futsal National League Squad Announced

Capital Football are pleased to announce the players selected in their squad for 2017’s Futsal National League

The 20-strong squad is punctuated by the inclusion of three New Zealand Futsal Whites in Lucas Silva, Jono Steele, and Luc Saker. Having this trio in the side is a massive boost for coach Callum Holmes but, as he acknowledges, it was a challenge picking the squad with so many talented players in the region:

We are fortunate to have a lot of depth in the federation so having to pick a squad of 20 was extremely tough. I feel we have a nicely balanced squad this year that has a good mix of experience and exciting young talent.

Among the emerging young players in the squad is New Zealand Futsal U-18’s Men’s player, Sam Wright. When the 2017 Futsal Roadshow hits the capital from 22 to 24 September, Sam will switch sides to play for New Zealand against his newly-selected regional teammates as the teams meet in a feature of the weekend. That game kicks off at 5pm on Saturday 23 September at Porirua’s Te Rauparaha Arena.

The naming of the side marks the first step in the campaign for 2017’s Futsal National League. Coach Holmes is realistic about the challenge ahead but is clear about where the side is heading:

We had a lot of success on and off the court last year but we also took a lot of learnings from the campaign and, as a group, we are looking forward to progressing throughout the season. The quality of the Futsal NL increases every year so we know every game is going to be challenging. We will prepare as best we can to make sure we are ready come October 14th.


Capital Football squad for 2017 National Futsal League

Sean Beresford
Alexander Brodie
Jacques Cuccurullo
Lucas Da Silva
Caleb Dixon
Brayan Heredia
Jherson Heredia
Shingo Ina
Shannon Lucas
Mohsen Maddah
Miroslav Malivuk
Enrico Meirelles
Frazer Norrington
Izaac O’Hara
Mazen Rabih
Khalid Razouk
Luc Saker
Jono Steele
Thomas Withnall
Sam Wright


National League Schedule:

Southern Home Series: 14th – 15th October, Palmerston North

Southern Travel Series: 4th – 5th November, Christchurch

National Travel Series One: 25th – 26th November, Wellington

National Travel Series Two: 8th – 10th December, Auckland