Napier City Rovers overcame a nervy final game to clinch the Central League title on the final day of the season.

Napier needed only a win or draw in their final match against Wairarapa United to claim their first title since 2015 and were in control for most of Saturday’s match against at Park Island after Golden Boot winner Martin Bueno scored his 22nd league goal of the season in the 22nd minute.

It appeared as though they would cruise to the finish when Wairarapa striker Hamish Watson was sent off for a second bookable offence in the 76th minute, but Paul Ifill ensured a few hearts skipped a couple of beats when scoring in the 87th minute.

But the Rovers’ Bjorn Christensen struck two minutes into stoppage time to secure the 2-1 win and the league title, with the Bill Robertson-coached side amassing an impressive 46 points.

It meant disappointment for Western Suburbs, who hammered relegated Havelock North Wanderers 7-1 at Endeavour Park thanks to a hat-trick to Nati Hailemariam. The result was in vain as they finished three points behind Rovers, 11 clear of third-placed Stop Out. Wests still have at least one more game this season as they take on Cashmere Technical in the semifinals of the Chatham Cup in Christchurch next Saturday.

Stop Out rounded out their season with a 2-0 win over Wellington United, while Waterside Karori beat Miramar Rangers 2-1 to end their battling campaign on a high note.


Wellington United closed out their stunning undefeated W-League campaign with a 12-0 win over Western Suburbs.

That was the champions’ 14th win of the league season, with just one draw preventing them making it a perfect 15 wins from 15. They now take on Dunedin Technical in the Kate Sheppard Cup semfinals at Newtown Park this Saturday.

Second-placed Wairarapa finished with a 5-0 win over Palmerston North Marist, while Seatoun continued their late-season form with a 5-1 win against Upper Hutt City.


Waterside Karori completed the perfect Women’s Premier League season, beating Kapiti Coast United 3-0 for their 14th win from as many games.

They will be joined in the W-League next year by Victoria University, who finished their season with a 4-0 win over Wellington United’s reserves.

Brooklyn Northern United lost 3-1 to Petone, but avoided the second potential relegation position after Island Bay United were held to a 3-3 draw by bottom team Stop Out.



Ultra Football Central League

Stop Out 2 (Luis Corrales 7’ Justin Gulley 25’) Wellington United 0. HT: 2-0

Western Suburbs 7 (Nati Hailemariam 24’ 33’ 49’, Matt Garbett 76’ 89’, Elijah Just 18, Dalton Wilkins 35’) Havelock North Wanderers 1 (Josh Murphy 87’). HT: 4-0

Napier City Rovers 2 (Martin Bueno 22’, Bjorn Christensen 90+2) Wairarapa United 1 (Paul Ifill 87’). HT: 1-0

Waterside Karori 2 (James Knott 9’ Sam Collier 13’) Miramar Rangers 1 (Angus Kilkolly 61’). HT: 2-0


Standings: Napier 46, Wests 43, Stop Out 32, Olympic 24, Wellington United 22, Lower Hutt 22, Miramar 22, Wairarapa 20, Karori 19, Havelock North 12

Golden Boot: 22: Martin Bueno (Napier City Rovers); 19: Samuel Johnson (Lower Hutt City); 15: Elijah Just (Western Suburbs); 13: Luis Corrales (Stop Out); 11: Jerram Tuck (Stop Out), Benjamin Waine (Wellington United); Hamish Watson (Wairarapa United); 10: Matt Garbett (Western Suburbs)



Wairarapa United 5 (Anna McPhie 6’ 30’ 71’ 88’, Molly Woodhead 65’) Palmerston North Marist 0. HT: 2-0

Wellington United 12 (Suzanne Giesen 32’ 34’ 44’ 50’ 62’ 75’, Natalie Olson 12’ 45+1’, 72’ 77’ 85’, Asha Strom 42’) Western Suburbs 0. HT: 6-0

Seatoun 5 (Juliet Conway 14’ 52’, Ana Olssen 47’, Carmen Harji 65’, Grace Surridge 68’) Upper Hutt City 1 (Sydnie Williams 34’). HT: 1-1


Standings: Wellington 43, Wairarapa 35, Upper Hutt 14, Wests 14, PNM 13, Seatoun 12

Golden Boot: 13: Danielle Ohlsson (Wellington United); 12: Torijan Lyne-Lewis (PNM), Anna McPhie (Wairarapa United); 11: Suzanne Giesen (Wellington United), Jemma Robertson (Wellington United), Grace Surridge (Seatoun); 9: Maya Hahn (Western Suburbs), Kelsi Rutene (Wairarapa United)


Women’s Premier League

Waterside Karori 3 Kapiti Coast United 0

Island Bay United 3 Stop Out 3

Victoria University 4 Wellington United 0

Petone 3 Brooklyn Northern United 1


Standings: Karori 42, Victoria 34, Wellington United 28, Petone 22, Kapiti 21, Brooklyn 8, Island Bay 7, Stop Out 2

Article added: Monday 20 August 2018


Latest News