Capital Football introduced the Nora Watkins Memorial Shield into the women’s Central League in 2024. The introduction of this Shield was a testament to the growing prominence of women's football in the region. The Memorial Shield symbolises the pinnacle of achievement in women's football, echoing the legacy of its namesake, Nora Watkins (nee Hetherington).

Nora Watkins, a pioneer in New Zealand football, left a significant mark on the sport. From her remarkable tenure as a Football Ferns player to her groundbreaking role as the team's first female coach, her contributions have shaped the landscape of women's football. As a player and coach, she exemplified dedication, skill, and leadership. Over the years Nora represented the Wellington region with seven national titles and seven goals to her name. Nora played and coached at several local football clubs including Petone FC, Upper Hutt FC and Miramar Rangers FC. Her involvement in the women’s game has been immense and after her passing in 2023, Capital Football and her family were delighted to introduce this Memorial Shield.

Current Holders
Waterside Karori


Bob O'Brien first played for Seatoun as a junior in 1943, he went on to make decades of first team appearances, won two Chatham Cup medals, served the club as secretary for many, many years and later assumed the role of its historian. And Bob’s contribution extends well beyond Seatoun itself.  He was previously president of the Wellington Soccer Association for two stints, 1973-1974 & 1994-1999, and his tremendous contribution to the game was recognised through the O’Brien Shield. Seatoun presented the shield to Capital Football in 1991, to be used in the top men's league from 1992 on a challenge basis– with the holder having to defend it against all visiting opposition.

Current Holders
Waterside Karori

Longest Consecutive Defences
2019-2023 | Miramar Rangers, 32 games
1994-1995 | Wainuiomata, 13 Games
2004-2005 | Miramar Rangers, 13 Games
2006-2008 | Western Suburbs, 13 Games
1993-1994 | North Wellington, 12 Games

Most Appearances in the O'Brien Shield
1. Mark Jamieson, 42 Games
2. Dominic Rowe, 41 Games
=3. Malcolm Campbell, 40 Games
=3. Josh Stevenson, 40 Games
5. Andrew Bevin, 39 Games

Most Goals Scored in the O'Brien Shield Games
1. Sam Mason-Smith, 34 Goals
2. Dominic Rowe, 28 Games
3. Angus Kilkolly, 27 Goals
=4. Pedro Garcias, 19 Goals
​​​​​​​=4. Rupert Ryan, 19 Goals

Biggest Winning Margin
30/06/2001, Challenge #117 | Wellington United 12-1 Coast United